The Fate of Pryde, The Second in the Trilogy of Remembrance


I’m a long way from publishing but I’ve finished a first draft of this novel, provisionally entitled the Fate of Pryde.  Back in February, I started reading and making some notes to collect my thoughts. Then I started writing it in March and finished the draft at the end of August. For me, this is warp speed!  In the past, I have literally taken years to write novels. But this won’t go to the publisher for quite awhile. After all, a first draft is really just the beginning. So much lies ahead.

I’ve just reread an article I wrote “The Second Draft and More.” http://www.theosgoodetrilogy.com/blog/?p=160#more-160 about what I did after getting a first draft of Final Paradox, the second in The Osgoode Trilogy. Glad I did! I’ve reminded myself of a few pointers.

It’s interesting how each novel seems to have its very own genesis. Maybe it’s like children. Each one is him/herself right from the very beginning.

Last year, I was confronted with a question in very personal terms. How can the very best and the very worst of humanity coincide in one individual? And so, I set out to find some answers. How? Why for me, the logical step is to explore the question in the form of a novel—that is, create a situation, place my characters in it and make my characters try to find some answers.

Here’s a few of the characters. Of course, Alexander Wainwright returns. He is the protagonist throughout the trilogy, just as Harry Jenkins was for The Osgoode Trilogy.  His friend and fellow artist, Peter, is back with his own story to tell. But Rinaldo, the conceptual artist in the first novel, The Drawing Lesson, is nowhere in sight. Right now, I’m debating whether I should bring back Daphne Bersault—Alexander’s muse. And of course, if she does show up, what will be her role? She can’t just come and hang around on stage.

Alexander has a new antagonist—Jonathan Pryde. Pryde is a very wealthy patron of the arts. He is the problem Alex has to figure out. Where does all the money come from which he uses to fund magnificent art projects?

It seems that there are a lot of themes growing in this one. For example, there is the question of how we treat the elderly in our society. Do we treat them with kindness and compassion or are they, when it comes right down to our darkest thoughts, just troublesome people who get in the way.

Shocking? Yes it is but I spent many years practicing elder-care law and nothing in the story is in any way far-fetched. And so, you will meet Dr. Kralik who “cares” for the inmates of Shady Gables, one of whom is Gloria Cummings, Peter’s mother. You met her in the first book. This plot line really explores how compassionate we really are.

As you can see, there’s a lot to think about. Over a hundred and twenty thousand people attend the Frankfurt Book Fair. And I would guess that there are hundreds of thousands of books there if not millions. How does the indie author find a place?

About Mary E. Martin

Mary E. Martin grew up in Toronto, Canada. After earning an Honors Degree in History at the University of Toronto, she graduated with her law degree from Queens University, Kingston, Ontario. In 1973, she was called to the Bar of Ontario and began the general practice of law in Toronto, with emphasis on real estate, wills and estates and elder-care law. This law practice of more than 30 years was a great inspiration for The Osgoode Trilogy ("Conduct in Question," "Final Paradox" and "A Trial of One.") Her fourth novel, “The Drawing Lesson,” will be the first in the next trilogy, provisionally entitled “The Trilogy of Rmembrance.” She is also a photographer particularly with respect to her travels. She has had two commercial photography shows. Married in 1973, she and her husband live in Toronto. They have three adult children.
This entry was posted in Writing process and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

