I’ve been puzzling over this one?


I’ve read that Daniel Defoe, author of Robinson Crusoe and Moll Flanders once said:

“…how frequently in the course of our lives the evil which in itself we seek most to shun, and which, when we are fallen into it, is oftentimes the very same means or door of our deliverance, by which alone, we can be raised again.”

What does this mean?

About Mary E. Martin

Mary E. Martin grew up in Toronto, Canada. After earning an Honors Degree in History at the University of Toronto, she graduated with her law degree from Queens University, Kingston, Ontario. In 1973, she was called to the Bar of Ontario and began the general practice of law in Toronto, with emphasis on real estate, wills and estates and elder-care law. This law practice of more than 30 years was a great inspiration for The Osgoode Trilogy ("Conduct in Question," "Final Paradox" and "A Trial of One.") Her fourth novel, “The Drawing Lesson,” will be the first in the next trilogy, provisionally entitled “The Trilogy of Rmembrance.” She is also a photographer particularly with respect to her travels. She has had two commercial photography shows. Married in 1973, she and her husband live in Toronto. They have three adult children.
This entry was posted in Writing process and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve been puzzling over this one?

  1. I think it means something like how now everyone is telling me sugar is evil. So I’m trying my best to avoid the evil that is sugar. I fell into the evil yesterday when I ate an entire chocolate cake. Boy, was I sick then. So while trying to avoid evil sugar, I fell into it, but it made me so sick I didn’t want anything to do with it today–if that makes any sense.

    • Hi Simone, That is such a great example! I think so too. I also think that it means that while we are doing something we consider really “evil” maybe that’s the same moment we’re turning around and heading in a better direction. Sort of like the dark before the dawn. But I would do exactly the same thing with the chocolate cake!

Leave a comment